Announcing Spring 2022 ACE Courses!

Announcing Spring 2022 ACE Courses!
Posted on 12/20/2021
Announcing Spring 2022 ACE Courses!

ADVANCED COURSE ACCESS (ACE PLUS)

Grant Directory | ACE Plus Courses
>>Download the Flyer 

>>Register for Courses Here

Arkport
ART 1000: Essentials of Art
Instructor: Alli Feenaughty
(607) 295-7471
afeenaughty@arkportcsd.org
An introduction to the visual arts emphasizing the understanding and appreciation of art through a review of the elements and principles of art and design, as well as an examination of two- and three-dimensional art forms, methods and media. Meets SUNY General Education requirements in The Arts. (3 cr.)

Canaseraga
ART 117: Design Foundations I (TC3)
Instructor: Andrew Olin (BOCES)
(607) 324-7880 x3126
aolin@gstboces.org
This course introduces the principles and elements of two-dimensional design and the foundations of visual communication through digital design and media. Conceptual and aesthetic problem-solving are explored through creative and practical applications of digital media in the course. Vector software is the main application utilized in the creation of projects but raster graphics are also introduced. Typography and typographic layouts are explored in the course. ART 117 fulfills the SUNY General Education requirement for The Arts. (3 cr.)

Elmira City
BUSN 2020: Personal Finance
Instructor: Cheryl Sweeney
(607) 735-3000
csweeney@elmiracityschools.com
Basic areas of personal finance, such as banking, home financing, insurance, investments, credit financing, and retirement planning. (ASN) (3 cr.)

Elmira Heights
BUSN 1055: Professionalism
Instructor: Andrea Dahl-Edgerton
(607) 734-7114
aedgerton@heightsschools.com
Understanding of individual and workplace needs as they relate to professionalism, team building and career growth. Topic areas include human relations, business ethics, business etiquette, team building concepts and career enrichment. Discussion, participation and role-playing exercises. May be taught in a simulated work environment. (3 cr.)

Hornell City
ART1000: Essentials of Art
Instructor: Jamie Kull
(607) 324-1302
jamie.kull@hornellcsd.org
An introduction to the visual arts emphasizing the understanding and appreciation of art through a review of the elements and principles of art and design, as well as an examination of two- and three-dimensional art forms, methods and media. Meets SUNY General Education requirements in The Arts. (3 cr.)

BUSN 2020: Personal Finance BUSN 1033: Applied Business Math
Instructor: Pamela Mendel
(607) 324-1302
pamela.mendel@hornellcsd.org
BUSN 2020: Basic areas of personal finance, such as banking, home financing, insurance, investments, credit financing, and retirement planning. (ASN) (3 cr.)
BUSN 1033: The four arithmetic processes and the algebra of business. Application of mathematics to typical business problems. Taxes, insurance, payroll, depreciation, trade and cash discounts, markup, simple interest and bank discounts, and financial statement analysis. (3 cr.)

Spencer-Van Etten
ENGL 102: Approaches to Literature (TC3)
Instructor: Katherine Wixted
(607) 589-7144
kwixted@gstboces.org
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the major aspects of literature. Extensive writing, using various rhetorical modes, helps students appreciate and understand fiction, drama, and poetry as forms of literary expression. ENGL 102 fulfills the SUNY General Education Humanities requirement.
(3 cr.)

Watkins Glen
BIOL 1030: Introduction to Environmental
Science and Sustainability
Instructor: Lisa Jurusik
(607) 535-3219
ljurusik@wgcsd.org
Students learn the interrelationships between humans and their environment by exploring the effects of the environment on organisms as well as sustainable solutions in the context of people, the planet and profits. Topics include human population, biodiversity, ecosystem services, energy use, global climate trends and food and water security. (3 cr.)

Waverly
BUAD 106: Foundations of Business (TC3)
Instructor: Ryan Alo
(607) 565-8101 x1006
ralo@gstboces.org
Designed to present an overview of the field of business. Business concepts including the economy, competition, management, and labor relations, are introduced through lecture and discussion. The course also explores business areas such as banking, insurance, and the securities market. (3 cr.)

Arkport
Name: Josie Steiner (High School Intervention
Coordinator)
Phone: (607) 295-7471 x2223
jsteiner@arkportcsd.org

Canaseraga
Name: Dan Bishop (School Counselor)
Phone: (607) 545-6421 x111
dbishop@ccsdny.org

ACE Plus Coordinators

Elmira City School District
Name: Molly Duffy (School Counselor)
Phone: (607) 735-3215
Email: mduffy@elmiracityschools.com

Elmira Heights
Name: Debbie Cooper (School Counselor)
Phone: (607) 733-5604
Email: dcooper@heightsschools.com

Hornell City
Name: Lindsey Marcus (Graduation Coach)
Phone: (607) 324-1303 x1527
Email: lindsey.marcus@hornellcsd.org

Spencer-Van Etten
Name: Erica Sparks (School Counselor)
Phone: (607) 589-7144 x3414
Email: ersparks@svecsd.org

Watkins Glen
Name: Beth Powell (DEI Specialist)
Phone: (607) 535-3210 x2705
Email: bpowell@wgcsd.org

Waverly
Name: Stacy Richmond (School Counselor)
Phone: (607) 565-8101 x1005
Email: srichmond@gstboces.org

Greater Southern Tier BOCES
Name: Molly Murphy (CISCO Networking Academy Teacher & Summer School Principal)
Phone: (607) 324-7880 x3176
Email: mmurphy@gstboces.org

>>REGISTER ONLINE HERE